Nasi Lemak Pantun


Pantun is a Malay poetry form from South East Asia, which has interlocking lines in the stanzas. I just studied this and am really enjoying experimenting with it. Here’s one I just wrote about Nasi Lemak (rice coconut= coconut rice, a common dish in SEA).

Nasi Lemak Pantun

How disappointed I am in you,
Selera Rasa Nasi Lemak.
I queued for an hour,
as you claim you are the best.

Selera Rasa Nasi Lemak,
your begedil was burnt.
You claim you are the best,
how could you even served me that.

Your begadil was burnt,
the chicken wing was no better.
How could you even served me that,
there was not enough sambal.

The chicken wing was no better,
the rice was too little,
there was not enough sambal,
to think I paid five-forty.

The rice was too little,
I queued for an hour,
to think I paid five-forty.
How disappointed I am in you.

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Me!, Poem, Singapore. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

