Last Day of Vacation 


Time for departure soon

Leaving a place where I was once awed

And for a period where curiosity bloomed

As I turned into unknown corners

And followed the path of a foreign moon

The place of exotic food and strange language 

Yet my heart recognized a love song being crooned. 

The unfamiliar mountains and waterfalls beckoned

And there I left something  behind where my soul marooned 

The lake where purple swarm hens hunt

A sight that had me swooned

Of sunset reflected upon padi fields

And elephant mahoots in indigo dyed pantaloons 

The hill tribes with the long-neck Karen girls

A symbol of status and beauty for their future grooms. 

Sigh… 

Last day of my vacation is a bag of mixed emotions 

Alas today I fly home to my mundane gloom

Where I shall slog for the next few months 

Til another vacation awaits in next June. 

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Poem, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Day of Vacation 

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Memories are what we glean from each journey. Don’t let it turn the rest of your days mundane and gloom!

Leave a Reply

