Ria Bintan Golf Lodge – a review


image

My son was participating in Bintan Ironman race and his parents decided to tag along as this was his first half ironman overseas. The race fee is steep as compared to local races and so it was decided that we would book our own hotel and transportation instead of using the official race tour. 

Ria Bintan Golf Lodge is part of Ria Bintan Golf Club. My weekend stay at this hotel was marvellous.  The staff were friendly and flexible to our request, although there had been some miscommunication .

We had booked a room through Agoda and another directly from the club online, both which had indicated last room.

My Eagle room was large as compared to the Par room my son and his friend used. They were happy to push the twin bed into a king bed for us. Four large plush pillows made my sleep comfortable.

image

image

Toiletries like disposable toothbrushes and slippers were provided,  as well as liquid soap in the shower.

We tried a 100-minute SG50 massage which cost 380000 rupiah per 50 minutes. The spa, ran by Asmara Spa was just next to my bedroom and is popular with golfers.

image

The oil massage was heavenly, soothing me into a light slumber.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and provided by the restaurant which is ran by a separate management. They were happy to pack breakfast for the boys’ early race the night before. For me, the choice between Asian, American or Continental breakfast was a non-brainer.  Fried beehoon for me anytime.

image

Dinner was mostly Indonesian fares like fried rice, fried chicken rice, oxtail soup. There was limited western food on the menu.

image

image

image

The hotel,  although not part of the official designated race hotels,  decided at  the last minute to provide a bus to the race site for the participants staying there, saving us exorbitant taxi fee. (200k rupiah ).

Bus shuttle between ferry and hotel are provided free, and there is regular shuttle service between the hotel and Lagoi Mall, a new mall by the beach where the ironman race was held.

In my short stay, the staff was on first name basis with me, making my stay hospitable as I lounged around waiting while the rest went to the race. The hotel was nice to extend my check out until 7pm for my 8pm ferry, which we were very grateful. But otherwise I would also be happy spending my time in the reading room reading Singapore’s Sunday Times, my book, or facebook- ing with the free wifi throughout the hotel

image

Bintan Resorts is a joint development between Singapore’s Economic Development Board and Riau Province, catering mostly to Singapore’s residents. Hence, prices here are steep, if not steeper than Singapore. Fried rice costs approximately S$18 and a glass of fruit juice S $6 in the restaurant at Lagoi and at our hotel. Be prepared to pay at least $15 for a three km ride.

Expensive but a very pleasant weekend nevertheless.

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

