Mt Kinabalu: Pre- Climb


image

I am in my hotel room at Heritage Resort and Spa in the vicinity of world heritage site of Mt Kinabalu. The photo above was shot from my bedroom window. Mt Kinabalu, the highest peak in South East Asia, at 4000m, is at the background.

As I write this, the wind is howling outside, the force of it causing the windows to rattle violently.

I am trying to sleep early to prepare for our climb I am aware of a sense of  uneasiness, the frequent skip of heartbeat, the doubt of my physique,  the uncertainty of my adventure tomorrow. I wonder if the cause is due to the side effects of the altitude sickness pill my friend dispensed after dinner, or that’s what happens when one is not sufficiently prepared for any major challenge. I think it’s the latter.

Ironically, my friends have more confidence in me. They think if anyone can do it, it’s me.

I am surprised at myself as well. I am more prepared than I was when I climbed the same mountain on the same date exactly 29 years ago. Then I was just as ill-prepared but I had the benefits of fearless youth recklessness  and the gungho attitude of ‘Just Do It’. I had  climbed in my denim jeans, my only pair of running shoes, and a few layers of sweaters, which now I realised from a website was  all wrong.

This time, I invested in proper hiking boots, state of the art carbon fibre hiking sticks,  inner layer heattec thermal wear with excellent wicking property  to stay warm, as well as engaged porters to carry our backpacks, something I couldn’t afford before.

So what if my knees are wobbly, my back aches, or my thighs sore? The climb is no walk in the park, I know , but I am determine to reach the summit.

So, wish me luck. Until my next update tomorrow at Laban Rata (3273m), the last stop before Low’s Peak (4095m), goodnight for now.

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

