“I LOVE YOU, SWEETHEART”


My mother sent me this email:

There was a group of women at a seminar on how to live in a loving relationship with your husband. The women were asked, ‘How many of you love your husbands?’ All the women raised their hands.

Then they were asked, ‘When was the last time you told your husband you loved him?’
Some women answered today, some yesterday, some didn’t remember. The
women were then told to take their phones and send the following text: ‘I love you, sweetheart’. Then the women were told to exchange phones and read the responding text messages. Here are some of the replies.

1. Who is this?
2. Eh, mother of my children, are you sick?
3. I love you too.
4. What now? Did you crash the car again?
5. I don’t understand what you mean?
6. What did you do now? I won’t forgive you this time.
7. ?!?
8. Don’t beat about the bush, just tell me how much you need?
9. Am I dreaming?
10. If you don’t tell me who his message is actually for, someone will die.
11. I asked you not to drink anymore. I’ll leave if you are tired of me.
12. Whatever you want the answer is no!

One can tell by the replies about the relationship between spouses.

I decided to test this with the ♂s in my family, namely my husband Mike and my three sons, aged 20, 19 and 13 and see their replies, if they reply, that is. ‘Sweetheart’ is not a term of endearment I use with any of them, usually I use ‘darling’, so I can imagine their confusion when I whatsapp-ed to them around 12.40pm one day. The thing about whatsapp application is that you know when the message has been read – one tick after your message shows that the message has been delivered and two ticks mean the message has been read.

Mike was rather fast with his reply, which must have been after his lunch hour when he did. Miss me ah? He asked, followed by ‘love you too’. Yes, shows he is hardly at home with me, right? But also shows we say that often to each other and are comfortable with saying that.

Aaron and Ivan saw the message as soon as it was delivered but didn’t bother with replying. Sigh… Just so you know, when I say it to them face to face, it’s either received silently or is replied with a gruff unintelligible mumble after I repeat it.

Andreas, who is in OCS and was only due home in another two days, replied after five hours, ‘I’m coming home tonight.’ I can’t decide if that’s his way of telling me he loves me too or just to inform me for logistic reasons, but I must admit he is more easy saying ‘Love you too’ to me in the face.

My three-year-old nephew, when asked about his Principal Ms Phee, told me he doesn’t like her as she scolds him often. I reminded him that I scold him often too, and he looked me in the eyes and said, but I like you, Da Gu (Aunt).

The other day, when he saw his Grandma rocking his week-old sister on the bassinet, he asked her, ‘Grandma, you love me right?’

I laughed.

Ladies, dare you try the sms  with your husbands too?

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

