Love Rain – Korean Drama Review


I hope Korean TV dramas are not going to revert back to those early 90’s long-winded romance drama where the love is unrequited because of family’s opposition, cancer, or in this case first sickness, then blindness. It’s cliche and very dated. So I am surprised KBS has succumbed to this standard with this latest drama which just ended.

This drama has a poor script and rely only on the cuteness of the two leads – Jang  Guen Suk and Yoon A from Girls’ Generation.

The story starts well initially. It’s early 1970’s and two university students fall in love after meeting in the rain. The 70’s costumes and hairstyles remind me of Lin Feng Jiao and Chin Han’s movies of that eras. Yoon A, as Yoon Hui, looks very much like Lin with her straight long hair and shy gaze. It’s no wonder all the men in the university fall for her and all women understandably hate her. Jang, as Seo InHa is the handsome art student who attracts the girls as he plays in a band as well. The couple  arrange to watch Love Story, where she then tells him to never say he is sorry. (I roll my eyes here!)

But they are too kind-hearted and instead of  following their hearts, they decide to let their friends have the girl/guy. She then leaves for the states quietly to deal with an illness.

Fast forward and it is 2012. The woman returns to Seoul with a daughter who looks exactly like her when she was younger. Inha marries the girl from the Uni and they have a son who looks exactly like him. They meet on a street on a rainy day. He knows he has been carrying the torch for her all these years and has divorced his wife because of this. Unknown to them, their children meet in Hokkaido and fall in love as well. But both love affairs are headed for trouble because apparently, the couple cannot end up together if they parents are also in love. I cannot understand this part. And so the young couple try to break up unsuccessfully, and the parents then decide to call off their wedding for the sake of their children. This ding ding-dong dong continues until the older woman Yoon Hui finds herself going blind and Inha finds he cannot leave her. So the young couple decides to sacrifice themselves once more…..

It’s a stupid story and the whole point of this drama is to capture the beauty of Jang Guen Suk and Yoon A, who acted in two roles, one as the parents in 1970 and then as their kids in 2012. I wanted to give up on watching on Episode 2 but my eldest son Andreas related his interest in this drama to me, telling me about Yoon A being from Girls’ Generation. Thus I continued so that we could have something to chat about. There was hardly any acting involved. Jang was his usual bad-boy self, complete with weird hair (thank goodness minus the eyeliner) as he did in He’s Beautiful. Yoon A just smiles sweetly and couldn’t even tear on demand when required. I thought she even confused her roles as the melancholic Yoon Hui and bubbly Hana.

The only exciting part in this whole drama was when I discovered that they went to Hokkaido to film and visited the places I did in May and even stayed in the same hotel (Episode 5). (No wonder there was a framed photo of Jang in the lobby.)

Yes, I forced myself to finish the full 20 episodes. Only fair for me to do that in order to give this review, right? But you can skip this.

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Korean Drama. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Love Rain – Korean Drama Review

  1. Ingenira says:

    Good honest review ! Thanks !

  2. Hanni says:

    I usually read or write reviews after I finish watching a series. I just finished episode 14 and I was thinking there’s a big disconnect between me and the characters I’m watching. i couldn’t relate to any of them.

    Is it just me or what…?

    I’ve read a few of the reviews now. And unfortunately, the drama has been found lacking.

    I have to agree with you on the “It’s a stupid story and the whole point of this drama is to capture the beauty of Jang Guen Suk and Yoon A,” part. you hit it right on the spot.

    Now I feel less guilty for taking a break from this drama.

  3. Jessica Josephine says:

    OMG! Thanks for the honest and blunt review, I really appreciate it. I was thinking of watching this drama, although I dislike the female lead and the story plot which I think is almost similar to another Korean film, The Classic. It’s probably just the longer version of that movie. Thanks to you I am not gonna waste my time on watching crappy boring drama. I’m just really wondering, how could someone said this drama was great..
    They probably never watch another Korean drama before. LOL

    • Min says:

      Well everyone has different opinions so it essentially just depends on one’s taste in dramas. Though you might believe the drama to be crappy and boring their is no true value to your words without watching and knowing about the drama firsthand… & I actually thought the drama was a pleasant watch surprisingly especially with the gorgeous cinematography/ost/characters etc (Again my opinion but I understand if someone says otherwise if they watched the drama.) Mind you I have been watching Asian dramas especially Korean dramas since 2003, so I have watched tons of dramas before this. Anyways, you obviously already have a grudge against the drama and I would state it is not for all for their is a melodramatic beginning as well as a rom-com type middle and other factors etc. One thing I would say though, is maybe be open minded on dramas and see some clips before plainly writing it out as horrible… (Not just for this case but for other dramas too for you never know if you will find a gem in a pile of rubble or whether the drama will surprise you in a good way.) :]

      Oh and to the reviewer, too bad it was not a nice watch for you but your review was still a
      good read even with our differing opinions. & Wow, Hokkaido must have been a beautiful place to visit.

  4. Pingback: Love Rain: Korean Drama Review « Off The Wall

  5. I agree with the reviewer, this drama was pretty bad. The male love interest was such a creep, really obnoxious, worse than in Mary stayed out all night. Yoona left something to be desired, too.

  6. SEO says:

    Hi there! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for
    the good data you will have right here on this post.
    I can be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  7. Steve says:

    While I thought the 70’s part was a bit corny, I actually enjoyed the show overall. The kids hooking up and going through what seems like a love hate affair was amusing but yet intriguing. I thought the actor who played Seo Jun did a pretty good job in portraying a student in the 70’s and then shifting gears to the arrogant young photographer who thinks he’s God’s gift to women. The actress who played Yoon Hee and Ha Na was pretty so that made up for a lot. LOL

    I thought it was touching when Inha and Yoon Hee reunite after all those years. I am only on episode 10 so I haven’t seen the entire series yet. I’m not a huge K-Drama fan but this might be one of the more enjoyable ones I’ve seen. Sounds like I’m a minority.

    Thanks for your write up!

  8. Kayla says:

    Hola! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

  9. Steve says:

    One more comment. The sound track for this drama is one of the best I have ever heard.

  10. Pingback: Love Rain 사랑비 [2012] | My Drama Links

Leave a Reply

