The Vow – Movie Review


It sounded like a really good movie for a die-hard romantic – a woman loses her memory and has no idea who her husband is. Worse, she thinks she is still engaged to her old lover, and now her husband has to woo her all over again.

This movie is based on a true story and the actual couple is now happily married with two kids.

I watched this movie alone on a Saturday night, sitting in a three-quarter empty cinema hall amidst dating couples and a pair of giggling Filipinas behind me, while my husband Mike watch The Hunger Game with my youngest son, Aaron, in another hall. The thought of sitting through a movie watching teenagers kill each other off is just too horrific for me, and I’d rather watch another movie alone, something I don’t usually do.

Half-way through the movie, I started playing Words with Friends with my girlfriend in KL. She asked how I could be playing while in a movie. Yes, the movie was that boring. My eldest son, Andreas, was surprised to hear that as he had heard good reviews from his friends. ‘Perhaps you are finally weaned off romanticism,’ Mike remarked cheekily.

The movie begins with Paige flirting with her husband in a car on a street. She removes her seatbelt and is starting to remove her clothes in a cold winter’s night when a trailer rammed into their car from behind. I couldn’t tell if the car is in the middle of a street or parked beside, but the stupidity of her action is not lost.

Paige wakes up losing her memory, and remembers only the time from five years before – when she was still happily living at home and engaged to Jeffery. The truth is, she has been estranged from her parents since finding out that her best friend was having an affair with her father. There is no reason given as to why she would leave Jeffery too, someone she clearly still loves five years later.

The dialogue is thin, and while this is not a romantic comedy, there is few funny exchanges worthy of laugh-out-loud moments (except when they showed male lead Channing Tatum’s butt – there were some laughter!) . Even the part where she sees her husband walks in the nude looks lame and cliché. There is no heart tugging moments, or moments where I should find myself tearing with sympathy for the couple.

It’s such a pity. Perhaps the Koreans should remake this into a movie and show the Americans how to do it with sensitivity and emotion.

Just to prove to myself that romanticism is not dead in me, I shall be watching the next one – Nicholas Sparks’s The Lucky One. (My sons thought excitedly that it was a war movie when they saw the advert in the beginning, and found out disappointed that it was a romance at the end. I was the opposite.)

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Movie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Vow – Movie Review

  1. klondike says:

    I definitely still want to see The Vow; I just ordered it on Blockbuster @Home. I have read some mixed reviews; a co-worker at Dish even told me she really enjoyed it. We both are hopeless romantics. This movie has two of my favorite actors so hopefully I enjoy it and don’t get bored while watching it.

Leave a Reply

