Musings


The recent offerings of Korean Drama on cable have been rather disappointing, even though they were of my romantic genre, in line with Valentine’s Day. Thus I was happy when Aunt lent me her DVD, My Princess, a romantic comedy about how an ordinary girl finds out that she has royal blood when South Korea decides to return the monarchy. It’s similar to the US movie Princess Diaries except that now the task of turning this girl into a princess falls into the hands of the leading man. Sounds good except that the two leads lack chemistry and after six episodes, the drama is just too monotonous. I gave up.

On the other hand, the new romantic comedy Wild Romance on KBS looks promising. Actor Lee Dong Wook, last seen in the boringly depressing Scent of a Woman is amazing in a comical role. He plays a notorious baseball player who gives his bodyguard, played by the very cute Lee Si Young, a hard time. Initially I thought that they were just acting cute, but after last night’s episode, I conclude that they are really cute as a couple, and funny too.

Only two episodes of Wild Romance are aired weekly – two episodes of bickering and making up, worthy of a classic Mills and Boon (M&B) Romance. Speaking of M&B, I was surprised to read recently that they are still the leading romance book publisher in the Western World. They had just conducted their annual Valentines’ survey on kissing and romantic habits. (http://www.prnewswire.co.uk/cgi/news/release?id=97929 ) M&B books can hardly be found in any local bookshops anymore, but then, bookshops are also fast disappearing in Singapore. Instead, I am seeing many Little Black Dress series books, which I had borrowed one from NLB. The story involves an ice hockey player and a female reporter assigned to the team. She is an outcast in an all male domain and thus ostracised by the players but she falls in love with the goalie even though she is not his type, the tall, blond, buxom and sexy type that – the Hooters sort that sportsmen go for. Jane admits herself, ‘I think it’s pretty safe to say I’m not Hooters material.’

I was amused to read about Singapore in the book when Luc the goalie replied, ‘I know for a fact they hire short girls. I’ve seen them in there. Of course, that was in Singapore.’  I didn’t know if I should be insulted or flattered when I read it.  (Page 96, See Jane Score, in case you want to read it.)

In another new book I started last night, Singapore was again mentioned. ( I didn’t know Singapore is so famous.) On page 4 of The 7 Best Things (smart) Teens Do, the passage describes a punk with multicoloured hair and body piercing sitting across an old man in a bus. The old man stares at the young punk, who barks at the old man, “What are you looking at? Didn’t you ever do anything wild when you were young?” The old man replies, “Yeah. Back when I was young and in the Navy, I got drunk in Singapore and had sex with a parrot. I thought maybe you were my son.”

…….

 

 

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Musings

  1. TC Lai says:

    Hi there. Singapore has been gaining notoriety for a while… being mentioned in blockbuster movies like Pirates of the Caribbean 1 & 2 (where the Chow Yun Fatt character was based), King Kong (where Jack Black’s character was going to film), Batman Begins (where Bruce Wayne needed high-end spare parts from), Johnny Mnemonic (sourcing of pirated hardware from). I’m sure there were a few more that I have missed out on!

    • vickychong says:

      Thanks for your comments. By the way, I read your NS Brunei experience. Both my hubby and brother went there a few times as well for reservist.

      • TC Lai says:

        Oh, I am sure then they can relate to you what’s it like. 🙂 For me, I’ve only been back to Taiwan for reservist, which was quite different from my cadet time. And why I called that story Cadet Taiwan. But I wonder what’s the barracks are like now and then. If they have photos, do share. I don’t think I have any overseas photos during cadet time. But snuck-shot a few during reservist. The reason was after 13yrs of service, they only gave us a lousy mug. No pictorial for keep sake even. Crap, isn’t?

      • vickychong says:

        Haha, my husband’s reservist finished long ago. (He is 50!). He was given a watch at the end which he treasures very much.

      • TC Lai says:

        Oh, same lah. That Swiss Army canvas strap thingy with inscription. I was given the same watch (still have it). The mug was given to the buggers from an earlier and older battalion which they had me join when I started my reservist, so I decided to take pics for myself. 🙂 I wonder what souvenirs they give out these days.

Leave a Reply

