Gary Tang


A few years ago (it could even be a decade ago), Mike and I were shopping at IMM when he was approached by a Financial Adviser, or more commonly known as Insurance Agent, from Prudential to purchase a policy. We have our regular agent who is a close friend but Mike decided to sign up a small policy with this young man there and then. Mike’s reason then was that he liked the young man and wanted to encourage the rookie.

Since then, every month without fail, this agent from Prudential, a Mr Gary Tang, whom I’ve never met, sends Mike a postcard with a motivational message printed in front. It’s a good marketing technique to help your clients keep you in mind, but very expensive. First there is the cost of postcard, and then there is the postage fee. I wonder if Mike is the special case or he sends it to every single client.

I keep some of the postcards by my vision board to lift me when I am down, and often quote these to my sons. I share these with you.

“For hope is but the dream of those that wake.” – Mathew Prior

“Luck is when opportunity knocks, and you answer.”

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling but in rising every time we fall.” – Confucius

“Excel – What the mind can conceive it can achieve.”

As if the printed message in the postcard front is not enough, Gary Tang also personalise the card by writing another message at the back of the postcards he sent. Some examples are:

“Learn to be calm and you will always be happy.”

“Questions are the creative acts of intelligence.”

“Well done is better than well said.”

Other than sending these, I don’t think he has contacted Mike again. For him to take the time and effort to send and sign these cards, he must surely be committed to his job and I believe he must be doing well.

I am indeed very impressed with this young man.

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Positive Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gary Tang

  1. Pingback: Writing my Bucket List | Vicky's Writings

  2. Zenn Tan says:

    Hi Vicky,
    I have a friend who happened also to mention about a Gary Tang who left a deep impression on her. However, we don’t have his latest mobile number or any contact details. Is it possible to trouble you to pass us his contact as we are now thinking of getting a policy? Thanks so much…

Leave a Reply

