Friendship


When I told my friend S on Friday that I was organizing a reunion for my secondary four classmates at my house the next day, she asked why I bothered. ‘It’s so tiring, and after so long, is it worth meeting again?’ From her tone, I gather she probably does not keep in contact with anyone from her school, and I hazard a guess that I may one day be in her obsolete list should we lose contact.

I still have regular reunions with my primary school classmates and form teacher since we left primary school. Friendship forged during childhood tends to be the strongest if the link is not broken, thanks to some of us who ensure this by repeatedly organizing gatherings throughout. Also, most of our kids now attend the same school and thus help maintain this link.

My JC classmates have all but disappeared except for three close ones. My u-mates are limited to a handful, and ditto for my ex-colleagues.

Unlike me, Mike’s friendship with his secondary school St John group remains strong, and he has reestablished contacts and reunions with his Hwa Chong Classmates and NUS Mech Engrg classmates, some of whom have passed on. Thus CNY period for him is one gathering after another.

Except for a couple, my sec school mates had not kept in touch with each other,  but it was through this tiny thread that domino effect happened and now we have established contact with more than half of the class. Not everyone turned up for the reunion despite being contacted and invited. I guess some people, like S, think the same way. Why bother?

So why do I bother? Mom answered my question  through her email circulations. Amidst the PAP bashing emails, I found this gem entitled  Layman’s Ten Commandment’s Great Reading. In its list:

3]   Friendship is like a BOOK. It takes few seconds to burn, but it takes years to write.

5] Old Friends are Gold! New Friends are Diamond! If you get a Diamond, don’t forget the Gold! Because to hold a Diamond, you always need a Base of Gold!

Need I say more?

About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

