September Appreciation Note


The Mooncake Festival (or the Mid-Autumn Festival) is my favourite time of the year. I’d make time to slow down and admire the beauty of the full moon and partake in family bonding by sharing of mooncakes with family members. (Except this year I had to compete with 爱 on TV, so there was not much bonding). It’s also the time of the year where I give thanks to all the beautiful mooncakes that were given to me by friends and relatives because they don’t like these unhealthy stuff and also because of my children.
 
This year, my aunt S gave me boxes of mooncakes from Ritz Calton, Fullerton (in a drawer with jade openers), Peach Garden (in a jewellery box) and one from Xin (in a handbag!). We didn’t get any free fixes of favourite Raffles Hotel’s Champane Truffles from anyone, and so my sister-in-law Wei generously ordered and treated us. Bee gave me a box from Shangri-la to try. But guess what? The best mooncakes were the ones I personally handmade at CTSS Mooncake Festival Celebration. Still, I appreciate all the mooncakes that were given with so much love.
 
My Bro-in-law was in Singapore on business and through him, my sister sent 2 boxes of pretzels. I love the fresh baked pretzels from the train station bakery at Stuggart – hot and coated in butter -, but these hard biscuit version is better than nothing.
 
My aunt returned from a shopping holiday from Italy and bought me a leather wallet. She said when she first laid eyes on that wallet, she thought of me. Thank you Aunt E. I’ve since got rid of my exploding Aigner Wallet from eons ago.
 
Bee just returned from many small business trips and during the recent lunch together, she passed me a bag of magazines – pilfered from various flights on SIA. Still, thanks Bee for thinking of me even in your busy working schedule.
 
Last week, two close friends i knew through work, one an ex-colleague and one an ex-customer, met for lunch at Ikoi Restauant (at Miramar Hotel) and chatted until the waitress chased us out. We’ve known each other since we first started work and yet we’ve cherished the friendship, calling each other whenever we feel we’ve not maintained contact for some time.
 
As i recall these past events in September, I can’t help feeling fortunte that there are people who often put me in their thoughts. September is a great month!
 
 
 
 
About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Positive Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September Appreciation Note

  1. Ong Boon Wee says:

    每逢佳節倍思輕, 月到中秋分外明.

  2. vickychong says:

    I googled. It should be : 人逢喜事精神爽, 月到中秋分外明.

    Also, correctly written should not be: 每逢佳節倍思輕 but 每逢佳节倍思亲!

Leave a Reply

