Aaron says the darnest thing


In the car last night.
 
Aaron: There is a boy in my class with a funny family.
 
Me: Funny? (I wanted to correct him to use the word dysfunctional but decided against it.) How?
 
A: He has an older brother who is 21 and a baby brother.
 
M: Perhaps it’s a step family. You know, from a different set of parents. Remarriage.
 
A: No, he told it’s the same parents. I calculated, the mother must be 50 years old…or perhaps 40+.
 
M: If she married young, she could be my age. PAUSE.
    Why? Do you want another baby sibling?
 
A: When are you getting your menopause? (A new recent vocabulary).
 
M: Eye-rolling . I don’t know when I’m getting my menopause. Anyway it doesn’t matter, cos i’m not having anymore babies. Already given birth to too many.
 
A: Haven’t you said you wanted a girl last time, even though now you’re glad you have no daughters. (He read my blog.)
 
M: No more. You know what I told you about economic theory – cost over benefits? The cost is too high, heart breaks, anger.
 
A: And also the amount you pay for tuitions……
   But you know what, the benefit is you have us.
 
Thinking
 
 
 
 
 
About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Aaron. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

