Spring Cleaning my life


In an episode of Korean drama ‘Women in the Sun’, one man was quoted saying that ‘Life is a journey, and you should not burden yourself with too many baggages.’ Ironically, in the March issue of Oprah magazine, the theme is spring cleaning and Oprah’s favourite topic, decluttering. The magazine really covers everything you need to declutter in your life, which include your wardrobe, your email in-box, computer hard drive, your photos, and guide you through the hard decision process of whether to keep or to toss.  This is the easy part.
 
The hard part is to declutter your life, as mentioned in the articles ‘Packing up your psychic baggage’ and ‘Friendship Detox’.
 
In the first article, women are advised not to put up with rude children, indifferent spouses, bad bosses, lousy friends, social injustice, all of which have no more place in your lives than painful shoes and shirts with huge yellow stains. Spring is a perfect time to learn to love what you have and change what you can’t love and get away from what does you harm. Don’t take any impulsive leaps after reading this, but take baby steps ad take them now to make changes. Either fix now or try again next spring, as decluttering is not a one-off process, but constant maintenence.
 
In ‘Friendship detox’, the writer would rather see a true friend once a year than suffer a faux friend every day of the week just for the sake of having someone around. Good friends never have to wonder where we stand, never fear for our mutual emotional safety in each other company. With these friends, you know their intentions and never worry about betrayals or being exploited. True friends bear each other’s burdens and accept each other weaknesses. Friendship is about collaboration, not domination. I’m happy to help keep your room clean, but life is too fleeting to let you continue trashing mine. After reading this, I’m happy to note this part of my life is free from clutter and trash.
 
With all the baggages that I’ve accumulated over my 44 years’ of live, if I should die suddenly now, Mike would have the task of sorting out my baggage, looking through my dairy, photos, and deciding what to do with my trashy novels and cheap costume jewellery. I have total faith and trust in him. But what if both of us were to depart prematurely? Who could i trust to sort out my belonging without infringing into my privacy (if i still have one upon death) and not place judgement on my belongings? (She actually read such novels? Why does she still have plastic ear-rings?) I thought hard about this after reading a wife’s struggle in holding on to her husband’s belongings when he died at age 45. She kept all his stuff, which included his thesis, his paintings, his boxer shorts for eight years and four moves.
 
I worry unnecessarily. Perhaps what I leave behind would just be disappointments that I have nothing of value, like carat diamond rings, or thick gold chains. Thus, this is a good reminder then:
 
Life is a journey that I should not be burdened with excess baggages.
About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Oprah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

