Teens should be responsible for what they post online!


For the past week, I have been receiving STOMP! ezine (http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/) regularly. It must be their new service to boost readership. I had subscribed to STOMP once to take part in their bad English contest but that was months, or even years ago. Thus, I haven’t really gone into this website. What an eye-opener it was to see all things Singaporean posted on it.
 
There were the gribes about unreasonable behaviours:
Baby sleep on floor while parents read newspapers at MRT station
Restaurant served rotten mussels and fish heads
Dangerous driving by a Subaru
Naked men parading around in (their own) flat
etc, etc, etc.
 
I could tell from the photos and comments that the recent easing of immigration rules have not only contributed to talents but also to colourful characters as well.
 
What was really shocking to me are the photos posted of teenagers in various states of undress and kissing their boyfriends, or kissing while in school uniforms. As a parent, I was flabbergasted.  There was one posting of a polytechinc girl with her breast bared and kissing which the stomper claimed was taken from her blog. Has the girl no shame? My first reaction upon seeing it was – thank goodness I have no daughters.
 
But what if the boy in the photo was my son? I shudder at the prospect of having another talk with the teens.
 
Just last week, I saw my son ‘liked’ a status posted on Facebook by a girl and was curious. In it, the girl wrote ‘Girls at 20 are like soccer balls, every guy chase after. Girls at 30 are like ping pong balls, i pass to u, u pass back to me, i pass to you, u pass back to me again -.- Girls at 40 are like golfballs. hit one time, go far far & never come back!‘ As a woman of forty plus, I did not see the humour and was quite offended, and to think it was written by a female.
 
Coincidentally three teenagers were arrested for their racist postings on Facebook.
 
I took the opportunity to highlight to the boys about the sensitivity of what they post. Everything that had happened initially started out as a joke or for fun, but one was racist, and the other sexist. Employers are now known to read blogs and Facebook for research and would quickly jump to conclusion on the values and characters from what your have posted. So be responsible…and sensitive.
 
A simple rule for teens is –  if you do not want your parents to see it, that means it not fit for public consumption either.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Singapore. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

