Twenty Wishes – Debbie Macomber


I borrowed this book from NLB. I was really pleased to find some of my favourite authors in the Bukit Batok Library. Now, I don’t have to buy books – not for the money spent, but for my bursting bookshelves.
 
Now that I’m have graduated from paperback chick to hard cover hen flicks, the large prints is wonderful for my ‘old flower eyes’, as my Uncle E likes to term the phrase.
 
Twenty Wishes is romantic novel about four widows who met in a book shop ran by one of them, Anne Marie. This is part of a series the author wrote on Blossom’s Street, where i reviewed another book, A Good Yarn some time ago. This time, it’s another shop, Blossom’s Book.  One Valentine’s Day, Anne Marie, still suffering from the death of her husband whom she had been separated, decided that the four widows should make a list of twenty wishes, so that they can move on.
 
Anne Marie initially found it difficult to make her list. Her wishes involved her husband – to see Paris with a loved one, to be a mother…
 
On the advice of another widow, she joined a lunch buddy program and befriended Ellen, whom she eventually adopted and love to live again.
 
I enjoyed this book more from another sub-story about Barbie, who lost her husband and father in a plane crash. She met a man on a wheel chair in a movie theatre and was attracted to him. He, although attracted to her too, did not want to be involved in a relation and tried all ways to avoid her. It reminded me of the Korean drama I had just finished watching, Celebrity Sweetheart, where a famous actress pursued a professor relentlessly. The plot is similar. She was rich and he’s not interested but gradually, their relationship blossomed.
 
It’s also coincidental how this book described some of the authors carried in the book shop, Maeve Binchy was mentioned in the book. Both Debbie Macomber and Maeve Binchy write about middle age women, and I enjoy reading from both. If we need to compare, M Binchy has a more in dept observation of the human traits, while D Macomber approaches is simpler.
 
Still, my heart skipped and my eyes teared from this book.
About vickychong

Just an ordinary woman.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

