Practicing The Law of Attraction


I have finally finished reading the Law of Attraction by Michael Losier after about 3 weeks. It’s a mich simpler book to understand than the over rated Secret. I had problem understanding that book, even after watching the Oprah episode on TV. I finally decided to buy the DVD (not cheap, at $65, but consider it an investment if it can change my life. It can be another bad investment, but it’s a small risk). but have not found the mood to sit down and watch it yet.
 
The Law of Attraction tells you basically to attract the things you desire by emiting good vibrations (vibes) into the universe and attracting it back to you. The way to do it is to pay attention to the things you want, without doubt that you will ever get it. In order to acheive it, you have to eradicate all things negative in your life, and only think positve things, ie, words like no, don’t, cannot, are negative vibes should be replace by what you want.
 
So when Aaron came to me and say, mummy, can I watch TV?, my first reaction is to say, NO. That would break the law. I should say what I want him to do instead. So the conversation went like this:
 
A: Mummy can I watch TV?
M: I want you to read a book.
A: But can I watch TV?
M: Why don’t you do something else.
A: I want to watch TV. So can?
M: Please do something else.
A: I don’t want to do something else. I want to watch TV. Can?
Finally, M: NO!
 
The problem with asking a close ended question is that the answer can only be understood by a Yes/No answer, and nothing else. I had raised his hope by not telling him NO at the beginning, and it’s a battle of who has is more patient until one of us finally gets it.
 
I was telling Mike about this book, about how we should be positive when dealing with kids, and clearly communicate what we want, instead of what we don’t want.
 
This conversation happened in the car on a drive to Ivan’s school.
 
Me: Ivan, I thought we agree you will try your best to get into IB. Well now you have failed.
I: Silence.
Me: Now that you have done so poorly, I am sure you are going to the worst class next year. Not only have you failed IB, you may even fail Sec 2!
I: tearing
 
Ivan dropped off.
 
Mike: I thought we agreed to be positive. Whay are you saying all the negative things to him?
M: shamefully silence
Mike: The Law of attraction may just come true if you are saying all thoes things.
Me feeling even worse.
 
Needless to say, last week was a horrendous week for me. Not only have I experience the biggest disappointment in my life (seriously, I have never felt more disapointed by anyone), but I was very sad that Ivan could do this to me if he knows this is how I would feel. I told Mike, the higher my expectation, the biggest is my disappointment. Mike said, that’s of course. That means I should have no expectation of my children, then I won’t feel so let down by them. He said that’s wrong thinking. They should know your expectation, but you should not be affacted by it.
 
So this week, I am writing down all my desires. That’s easy. The hard part is to clear the doubt and to practise attracting all the positives into me.
 
I am positive I will succeed.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

About vickychong

Vicky Chong recently published a new short story collection, 'Racket and Other Stories.'
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment